Tags

, , , ,

A Bird's Eye View

A Bird’s Eye View

“Life is a journey, not a destination” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Many times over the years I’ve got so caught up in my dream that I’ve forgot to enjoy the journey. I’ve held the vision of where I wanted to be for a very long time and always felt like something was in the way, and it was; me! Having looked back I can see that everything, everything was meant to be and happened at the most perfect time. Whenever I lose sight of the overall vision and get caught up in whatever hand life is dealing me at that time I look down on my life from a bird’s eye view and imagine it in a linear time frame like the picture above. Intuitively I imagine where I’m currently at on the line, usually somewhere between A (my arrival) and the sweet spot, this helps me to stay focused and keep moving towards my goal. When you have something to move towards it’s a lot easier to keep going through the hard times.

Now I see myself just before that sweet spot, the sweet spot being the turning point in life where you take all of the ‘doing’; the lessons you’ve learnt, knowledge you’ve gained, experiences you’ve had and challenges you’ve overcome and you start using them to fulfil your destiny, your purpose. This is what you’re here to do, the message you have to share or the talent you are here to express and everything in your life has been leading you to this, there are no mistakes.

Close your eyes for a moment and intuitively imagine where you are currently at on the line, don’t second guess yourself, whatever comes to you is correct. Are you anywhere near your sweet spot? Do you even know what that sweet spot is yet? If you’re still trying to figure that out think about your strengths, what are you good at? What are you curious about and interested in? What do you love to do and could spend all day doing it if only you got the chance? Really think about these questions, write down the answers and look for any similarities. The answers to these questions hold the clues to what you are supposed to do.

I know a lot of teachers, they love to teach but they are unhappy in their work because of the system them are trying to teach within. If you love what you do but not within the context that you do it in, how can you change that? There is always a way! Don’t try and figure it all out at once and imagine the end result, just think of a way you could start small and in time it will gradually build. You have all the time in the world to fulfil your purpose, remember we are mothering our dream like we mother our children; patiently, gently, step by step.

I wrote my first book in 2007 and although I never published it that book was an important start for me. At the time it felt like a waste, sitting there on my hard drive read by only a select few people but it was writing that book that a) made me realise I could write and b) sparked the desire to write more than ever! If there is something you have always wanted to do just do it! Life is too short for what ifs and if only, take a chance and a small step forward and the next step will appear at just the right time. Remember don’t try to figure it all out, don’t try and think how you can make money or a living from doing what you want to do, just do it, do it because you love to do it, look down from that bird’s eye view and see yourself at the beginning of a very exciting journey, one that will unfold in its own sweet time just like your baby will grow in their own sweet time.

It’s been 7 years between writing that first book and this blog but in all that time I’ve been doing what I love to do, the one thing that I would do all day long if I got the chance, I’ve read! I always have half a dozen books on my shelf waiting to be read and my dream is to share all of that knowledge with you in my own unique way but it takes time, I have spent years building on the knowledge I have gained, internalising it and living it, learning from my ‘mistakes’, growing as a person and as a mother. All of those books and all of that time were my ‘doing’ and now I’m ready to start living my destiny, sharing that knowledge to help inspire others to go for their dreams too. Everything I read about becoming a successful writer tells me how difficult it is, how much rejection you have to face and how much competition there is but I’ve never bought into any of that, I believe that if this is meant to be, if I am meant to write then the doors will open at just the right time and the same is true for you. Don’t buy into other peoples beliefs, it’s scientifically proven that your beliefs shape your future, so if yours don’t serve you or you are living by someone else’s beliefs system, change it. You have to believe it to see it!

As most of you know I have entered a contest for the Transformational Author Event to submit my book proposal with the chance of winning a publishing deal. When I entered the contest a few weeks ago I had absolutely no idea what my book would be about, I mean I had a rough idea based on my blogs but I had no outline, no chapter headings and no plan but I took the inspired action and went with the gut feeling I had, that this was my time, this was my chance. Last week I started to feel the pressure a little, with the 31st of July deadline looming and still no outline just hundreds of thoughts running through my mind, I decided to use my bird’s eye view to help me again. As a visual learner I like to see things, so I took 7 pieces of card to represent the 7 main chapters of my book and with different coloured post it notes started to jot down all the thoughts in my head, the lessons I’ve learned, stories I want to share and knowledge I want to spread and then posted the notes on the corresponding chapter. It took hours but when I finished I had a bird’s eye view of my book with all the thoughts organised into the right chapters and it took a huge weight off my mind!

Is there anything in your life at the moment that could do with a bird’s eye view? Do you have so much going on that you don’t know where to start? Perhaps you could do the same, instead of book chapters divide it up into areas of your life; home, work, purpose, kids. Then take all those thoughts that run around in your mind all day long ‘I must book a dentist appointment’ ‘I must start that essay’ ‘I must finish that online course/book’ and post them into the different areas. Now you have a bird’s eye view of what needs to be done you can take one area at a time or one item from each area to focus on and let the rest go until the time is right. When you free up your mind from all the ‘clutter’ you will have more time and energy to do the things you need to do. Your outer world reflects your inner world.

It’s time to take a bird’s eye view of your life, to look down on where you have been and where you are going. It’s time to de-clutter your mind to make room for new ideas to enter and to organise yourself so you have the time and energy to focus on your dreams. It’s time to stop all the doing and hit that sweet spot!

With love and dickey birds
Vicky xx

